Positive Waves….

IMG_2622Things have been quiet here on the post front for several months you may, or may not have noticed. For lots of reasons, most of them personal and not for discussion here, but basically a lack of drive or inspiration to write anything worth reading (which may well still be the case)..

Part of that too was a feeling that blogging (for me at least) had become a little stale and for want of a better descriptor, “samey”, which doesn’t really mean anything at all.

If I did feel the urge to engage brain to pinkies, it was inevitably about something negative. So I refrained from doing so in an effort to not piss people off, and in doing so save my “iKeyboard” from being fist-mashed into something beyond the recognition of even the late Steve Jobs..

IMG_2579

So why now, I hear you collectively cry? (thanks to both of you for crying that by the way)

Well, a few things really. Weirdly the first was the second anniversary of Simon #Scoop Johnson’s death (which doesn’t seem that long ago at all). I was reading some of his old posts and it made me think, I miss these. Simon’s writing was informative, witty, farsighted, grounding and sometimes (perhaps always), absolutely bonkers. His posts generally made you feel happy or at least able to laugh at even serious issues, beer and blogging about beer should be fun.

Exhibit A: Harrumph

Exhibit B: Money For Old Rope…

If you never got to meet Simon or in particular read any of his work, go and have a good rummage through his blog, time well spent I assure you.

IMG_2637The second was this last weekend and an impromptu visit to both BlackJack and Runaway Breweries as part of the Manchester Brewery Expo, to quote the latter twitter profile “Manchester Brewery Expo is a collaborative, open door event to celebrate our brewing community, shared goals, and unique characteristics”.

The Expo included and just happened to coincide with BlackJack’s own monthly brewtap weekender, which I heartily recommend. But my attendance wasn’t planned. Two brief early morning comments sparking an idea that grew quickly to become a wonderful afternoon where I met so many good beer people, friends, enjoying their company and conversation. I felt that dark cloud lift for a while, thinning and rising ever higher, bright warming rays starting to peep through the gaps.

(For reference, in terms of the whole event, there was so much going on that I didn’t get to see over the weekend, but in any case I completely forgot to take any pictures… However, for a flavour of that, check out this fine photoblog by Mark Johnson).

The final thing though, was a most timely email last night from some social media site congratulating me on the fact that the blog was “3 years old today”, it even had a cartoon cake!

“Wow” I thought “three years, it feels longer than that”.

It was, my first post on Beersay was actually February 2011, so it is actually nearer four and a half. So, maybe taking a break has just done me good. I’m hoping so and that this is a sign of my returning mojo in whatever form that may take. Beer blogging has been kind to me, I’ve learned so much and made more friends with similar interests than I would have ever thought possible. Only time will tell..

Raising a glass to “positive waves” people, “positive waves”. #ODDBALL

6 thoughts on “Positive Waves….

  1. Fully understand, my blogging never really took off. Struggle to think of something interesting to write and perhaps a little jaded of the whole beer blog world. Whilst I still have love of beer in general and even started tentative brewing of it, not sure I’m equipped to write about it very well. Always enjoy when you do post something Phil and whilst don’t always seem to engage as much as I used to to, look forward to you writing again when you feel inspired.

    As a post-script, wholeheartedly agree everyone should read Scoops blog posts. Never failed to raise a smile and well worth reviewing for anyone in how to write interesting stuff.

    Dave

    • Dave, it’s been along time since EBBC12 and Baby Faced Assassin, (I miss those days), so many good memories and great friends. Blogging has moved on a pace since then, new faces and media, beer is BIG business and sometimes it shows. I think you are right in that in trying to keep up, reading so many leaves you jaded of the whole scene, inspirationally drained. I often think, “I really need to write something”, but it just doesn’t come. I’m sure things will turn around, maybe I need to drink more lol. Cheers buddy

  2. Hi Phil, sometimes you’ve just got to work through the shit (mentally, figuratively, and physically) to get to the other end, no two ways around it. Like Dave above, and I’m sure many others, I forward to your upcoming posts.

I'd love to hear what you think, please don't forget to comment, thanks